Neighbors helping neighbors.

Born in 1968 as South Hills Interfaith Ministries by, no kidding, a priest, a rabbi and a minister, SHIM has been providing food, clothing and services to people in need in Pittsburgh’s southern suburban neighborhoods ever since. Faced with unprecedented new levels of suburban poverty, SHIM is expanding our work to include more neighbors helping more neighbors in need.

Together, with teams of dedicated volunteers, donors and partners, we’re working to reduce the devastating effects of suburban poverty among the working poor, unemployed, families, single parents, senior citizens, women and the high concentration of refugee families in our service area.

SHIM Vision

An inclusive community where everyone has the opportunity to thrive.

SHIM Mission

SHIM mobilizes community resources and implements sustainable programs that compassionately help our neighbors meet basic needs, achieve self-sufficiency and build community.

SHIM Values

Equity

Equity and Inclusion

We believe that an individual’s background, situation, and life circumstances contribute to a vibrant community. We believe that all our neighbors should be treated with dignity and respect.

Building Community

Building Community

We believe that the community is stronger when it comes together. We take pride in facilitating connections between people who need help and those able to provide help, enriching the lives of all involved and cultivating a community of neighbors helping neighbors.

A Hand up, not a handout

A Hand Up, Not a Handout

We believe in addressing need holistically. We help people meet basic needs, and then leverage our comprehensive programs to help move people along their path to self-sufficiency.

Partnering for Power

Partnering for Power

As the largest human services agency in the South Hills, our greatest strength is our ability to convene stakeholders, serve as an effective partner, identify needs, and coordinate resources to serve the community.

People priority

Our People are Our Priority

We believe that our employees, volunteers, and donors are our greatest resource. We strive to ensure that our staff and volunteers feel respected, well-cared for, and have proper access to self-care resources.

SHIM Leadership

James-Guffey

James Guffey

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The smiling face and leader of our organization, Jim joined the SHIM team in 2006 as SHIM’s first Director of Development and Public Relations. Now the Executive Director, Jim is responsible for the day-to-day operation of all aspects of SHIM as well as working with the Board of Directors to facilitate the strategic direction of the organization. A graduate from Robert Morris University, Jim has 25 years of experience working for notable nonprofits, including the American Heart Association and United Way of Allegheny County (now United Way of Southwestern Pennsylvania).

Courtney Macurak

Courtney Macurak

Director of Programs

Responsible for the programmatic success of SHIM, Courtney ensures seamless team management and development, program delivery, quality control and evaluation. Dedicated to SHIM since an internship in 2002, Courtney is the organization’s Director of Programs. She has a masters degree in social work with a concentration in community organizing and social administration from the University of Pittsburgh.

Andrew Baram

Andrew Baram

Director of Finance and Administration

Andrew joined SHIM in 2023. He manages the development and execution of all projects related to finance, business planning and budgeting, human resources, IT, administration, and facilities. Andrew has 20+ years of corporate experience and received his Masters in Business Administration and Bachelor of Science degrees from Penn State.

Seth Dubin

Seth Dubin

Director of Development and Communications

Seth joined the SHIM team in 2016. He has the privilege of engaging with our generous supporters in the community, connecting them to the work we do and enabling them to fulfill their philanthropic aspirations.

Seth has more than a decade of fundraising experience in arts organizations, public TV, but his heart lies in human services. Seth has a bachelors degree in German and sociology from the University of Pittsburgh.

Meet SHIM’s Board

SHIM’s distinguished board of directors is comprised of leaders and professionals in the Pittsburgh area who dedicate their talents and expertise to serve the South Hills community. Their active commitment and contribution to our programs have strengthened outreach efforts and provided new opportunities for growth.

Pace Markowitz, Chair

NOVA Chemicals

Alexandria Samuel, Vice Chair

PNC Bank

Linda Jones, Secretary

United Way of Southwestern Pennsylvania

Jason Savarese, Treasurer

Alcoa, Inc.

Kim Amey

Carnegie Science Center

Dennis Astorino

DLA+ Architecture & Interior Design

Amela Burlovic

BNY Mellon

Renee DeMay

Ansys

James Frantz

TEDCO Construction

Jennifer George

Community Bank

Joanna Hughes

St Clair Hospital

Kathy Lipecky

Partner4Work

Jennifer Nanz

NOVA Chemical

Dr. Kiran Patil

Butler Health System

Jiwan Pradhan

Companion Care

Barbara Rosenberger

Event Planner/Consultant

Rev. Brian Snyder

Bower Hill Community Church

Christopher Stephey

St Clair Hospital

Robert Thumpston, Jr.

ABART Coca-Cola Beverage

Rob Wagner

Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation

Dr. Alan Yeasted

St. Clair Hospital

Cynthia Donahoe,

Recording Secretary

James Guffey

SHIM Executive Director

Our locations

South Hills Interfaith Movement
5301 Park Avenue
Bethel Park, PA  15102
Get directions

Phone: (412) 854-9120
Fax: (412) 854-9123
Email: info@shimcares.org

SHIM South Hills Family Center
41 Macek Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15227
Get directions

Phone: (412) 892-4673
Email: info@shimcares.org

Staff directory

SHIM Center

James Guffey

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 101
jguffey@shimcares.org

Andrew Baram

DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION
(412) 854-9120 ext. 102
abaram@shimcares.org

Molly Penderville

BASIC NEEDS DIRECTOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 108
mpenderville@shimcares.org

Marcele Reola

INTAKE AND SERVICE COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 107
mreola@shimcares.org

Olivia Montana

MOBILITY MENTORING SPECIALIST
(412) 763-2560 ext. 382
omontana@shimcares.org

Rachel White

DEVELOPMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER
(412) 854-9120 ext. 112
rwhite@shimcares.org

Ann Talarek

VOLUNTEER ENGAGEMENT COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 106
atalarek@shimcares.org

Jignesh Chauhan

ACCOUNTANT
(412) 854-9120 ext. 121
jchauhan@shimcares.org

Courtney Macurak

DIRECTOR OF PROGRAMS
(412) 854-9120 ext. 103
cmacurak@shimcares.org

Seth Dubin

DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS
(412) 854-9120 ext. 109
sdubin@shimcares.org

Eric Ross

SERVICE COORDINATION DIRECTOR
(412) 892-4673 ext. 345
eross@shimcares.org

Lisa Turske

SERVICE COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 104
lturske@shimcares.org

Ashley Bajkowski

AFTER SCHOOL DIRECTOR/SUMMER CAMP DIRECTOR
(412) 742-6122
abajkowski@shimcares.org

Kyla Ross

BASIC NEEDS COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 120
kross@shimcares.org

Mary Amatangelo

CHECKMATES COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 116
mamatangelo@shimcares.org

Becky Henninger

COMMUNITY GARDEN COORDINATOR
(412) 854-9120 ext. 111
bhenninger@shimcares.org

SHIM South Hills Family Center

Mary Pannier

CHILDREN AND YOUTH DIRECTOR
(412) 892-4673 ext. 396
mpannier@shimcares.org

Netra Kafley

FATHERHOOD PROGRAM COORDINATOR
(412) 892-4673 ext. 375
nkafley@shimcares.org

Amy Moon

FAMILY DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST
amoon@shimcares.org

Susie Backscheider

YOUTH MENTORING COORDINATOR
(412) 892-4673 ext 340
susie@shimcares.org

Jackie Mwanjumwa

ISAC COORDINATOR
(412) 892-4673 ext. 355
jackie@shimcares.org

Indira Pyakurel

COMMUNITY LIAISON
(412) 892-4673 ext. 320
ipyakurel@shimcares.org

Bhola Chamlagai

COMMUNITY AIDE
bhola@shimcares.org

Lexie Garcia

YOUTH MENTORING ACADEMIC SPECIALIST
lgarcia@shimcares.org

Alison Irvine

YOUTH MENTOR

Dawn Rees

FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT SPECIALIST
(412) 892-4673 ext. 350
drees@shimcares.org

Loredana Marinescu

LEAD FAMILY DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST
(412) 892-4673 ext. 310
lmarinescu@shimcares.org

Miawna Johnson

FAMILY DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST
mjohnson@shimcares.org

Becky Brown

AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM DIRECTOR
(412) 551-7642
bbrown@shimcares.org

Diana Hunsberger

LEAD EARLY CHILDHOOD TEACHER
(412) 892-4673 ext. 325
dhunsberger@shimcares.org

Jinan Hassan

COMMUNITY LIAISON
(412) 892-4673 ext. 330
jhassan@shimcares.org

Januka Regmi

ISAC SERVICE COORDINATOR
jregmi@shimcares.org

Davis Kazako

YOUTH MENTORING SPECIALIST
dkazako@shimcares.org

Nan Nway

Nan Nway

EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAM AIDE

Interested in joining the SHIM team?

Please contact Andrew Baram with any questions
(412) 854-9120 ext. 102
Director of Finance and Administration
abaram@shimcares.org

Charity Navigatior, four stars
United Way of Southwestern Pa